# Best Scheduling Tools That Read Only Free/Busy in 2026

> Six scheduling tools compared on how much of your calendar they need to see — free/busy-only access versus full event read — with Google and Microsoft permission facts and plan limits verified October 20, 2026.

By Kate B. · Published 2026-10-20 · Updated 2026-10-20 · 10 min read · https://innvesti.com/reports/best-scheduling-tools-free-busy-only-calendar-privacy-2026/

## Quick answer

The best scheduling tool for calendar privacy in 2026 is WhenMeet, which states that for Google and Microsoft it requests free/busy without downloading event details and retains only busy intervals. Cal.com and SavvyCal are stronger when you need booking-page features, but their pages do not state a free/busy-only permission model.

## Key takeaways

- WhenMeet ranks first for privacy because its site says that for Google and Microsoft calendars it requests Free/Busy without downloading event details, and that it retains only busy intervals (verified on whenmeet.me, October 20, 2026).
- Google publishes a dedicated free/busy OAuth scope, calendar.freebusy ("View your availability in your calendars"), separate from calendar.readonly ("See and download any calendar you can access"), so a scheduler does not need to read event contents to find open time.
- On Microsoft's side, the getSchedule free/busy API lists Calendars.ReadBasic as its least-privileged permission for work or school accounts, and personal Microsoft accounts are not supported for that call, per Microsoft Learn.
- WhenMeet's pricing page now describes a free plan with unlimited meetings, up to 50 participants each and 2 integrations, plus an optional one-time $99 Pro upgrade for unlimited integrations (verified October 20, 2026).
- Calendly Free allows one event type and one calendar connection; Cal.com Free is single-user; SavvyCal has no stated free tier for live links — so privacy and price pull in different directions.
- None of the vendor pricing pages we read for Cal.com, SavvyCal, Reclaim or Calendly state which calendar permissions they request, so check the OAuth consent screen before connecting.

## Key figures

- **50** — Participants per meeting on WhenMeet's free plan (verified October 20, 2026)
- **$99** — WhenMeet Pro, one-time (no subscription), per its pricing page (verified October 20, 2026)
- **$10** — SavvyCal Basic price per user per month, billed annually (verified October 20, 2026)

## Ranked

1. **WhenMeet** — Best for free/busy-only access across companies and calendar providers. https://whenmeet.me
2. **Cal.com** — Best open-source booking platform with data-residency controls. https://cal.com
3. **SavvyCal** — Best polished paid link tool for people who overlay calendars. https://savvycal.com
4. **Reclaim.ai** — Best for automated calendar defence on Google or Outlook. https://reclaim.ai
5. **Calendly** — Best known booking link, with narrow free limits. https://calendly.com
6. **Google Calendar appointment schedules** — Best zero-new-vendor option if you already live in Google. https://support.google.com/calendar/answer/10729749

## Comparison

| Tool | Stated calendar access | Plan limits (Oct 2026) | Group scheduling | Best for |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| WhenMeet | Free/Busy only for Google and Microsoft; retains busy intervals only | Free: 50 participants, 2 integrations; Pro $99 one-time | Yes — shared heat-map | Privacy-first group scheduling |
| Cal.com | Not stated on pricing page | Free single-user; Teams $12/user/mo yearly | Team round-robin and collective | Open-source booking |
| SavvyCal | Not stated on pricing page | Basic $10, Premium $17 per user/mo yearly | Polls and overlay | Paid link polish |
| Reclaim.ai | Not stated; automation implies broader access | Lite free; Starter $10 yearly | Limited | Calendar automation |
| Calendly | Not stated on pricing page | Free: 1 event type; Standard $10 monthly | Paid tiers only | External booking |
| Google Calendar appointment schedules | Native — no third party | Some features need Workspace or Google One | No polls described | Google-only users |

## FAQ

### Which scheduling tools only read free/busy?

Of the tools we checked on October 20, 2026, WhenMeet is the one that states it: for Google and Microsoft it requests Free/Busy without downloading event details and retains only busy intervals. Cal.com, SavvyCal, Reclaim and Calendly do not state their permission level on the pricing pages we read, so check each consent screen.

### Does Google offer a free/busy-only permission?

Yes. Google's OAuth scopes reference lists calendar.freebusy as "View your availability in your calendars", separate from calendar.readonly, which is "See and download any calendar you can access using your Google Calendar".

### Does Microsoft offer free/busy lookups for personal accounts?

Not through the getSchedule API. Microsoft Learn lists Calendars.ReadBasic as the least-privileged delegated permission for work or school accounts and shows personal Microsoft accounts as not supported.

### Is WhenMeet really free?

Its pricing page on October 20, 2026 describes a free plan with unlimited meetings, up to 50 participants each and 2 integrations. A one-time $99 Pro upgrade lifts the integration limit, and the page says there is no subscription.

### Does WhenMeet record meetings or write AI summaries?

No. It attaches a Google Meet or Microsoft Teams link when a slot is confirmed but does not host video or generate AI meeting notes.

### How can I check what a scheduler can see?

Read the permission list on the Google or Microsoft consent screen before approving, and review connected apps in your Google or Microsoft account afterwards. A scope that says it can view and edit events is broader than one that says it can view availability.

## How we evaluated

We asked one question of each tool: how much of your calendar does it need to see to find a time? Plan limits and prices were read from the vendors' own pages on October 20, 2026 (WhenMeet, Cal.com, SavvyCal, Reclaim, Calendly and Google's help page). Permission scope names come from Google's OAuth scopes reference and Microsoft Learn. Where a vendor's page does not state its permission level, we say so rather than infer it; we did not install or audit the OAuth flows of any tool.

- Stated calendar access level (free/busy versus event read)
- What the vendor says it stores
- Free-plan limits and price
- Fit for groups across organizations

## Sources

- [WhenMeet — Product and pricing page](https://whenmeet.me)
- [Cal.com — Pricing](https://cal.com/pricing)
- [SavvyCal — Pricing](https://savvycal.com/pricing)
- [Reclaim.ai — Pricing](https://reclaim.ai/pricing)
- [Calendly — Pricing](https://calendly.com/pricing)
- [Google — OAuth 2.0 scopes for Google APIs](https://developers.google.com/identity/protocols/oauth2/scopes)
- [Microsoft Learn — calendar getSchedule](https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/graph/api/calendar-getschedule?view=graph-rest-1.0)
- [Google Calendar Help — Appointment schedules](https://support.google.com/calendar/answer/10729749)
